IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society Malaysia



IEEE Workshop on Geoscience and Remote Sensing 2020 (IWGRS2020)

This is the 6th series of our yearly workshop aimed at providing a forum for the IEEE Geoscience & Remote Sensing (GRSS) members to share knowledge and experience on recent developments and advancement in geosciences and remote sensing technologies, particularly in the context of Remote Sensing for Sustainable Environment. This year, the theme of IWGRS2020 is “Remote sensing for Health and the Environment”. We would like to cordially invite you to participate in this special workshop and collaborate together for the betterment of humankind.
Co-organizers: Malaysian Space Agency (MYSA), Institute of Geospatial and Remote Sensing Malaysia (IGRSM), UNITEN, MMU, STRIDE, UiTM, UTAR, and UTM
Date: 24 November 2020 Venue: Virtual Conference (online)



  • Geoscience and remote sensing technologies
  • Environmental and disaster monitoring
  • Land cover classification and mapping
  • Radar systems and applications
  • Global Navigation Satellite Systems
  • Microwave Components and Systems
  • Communication Systems
  • Surveillance technologies

Click HERE to download the PDF version of Call-for-Paper.

Click HERE to view the FINAL (Updated) programme schedule (with abstract of all papers) .


<NEW> Click Here for Participant registration.



Submit your abstract electronically via this LINK.

Full manuscripts should be prepared according to the format of the IEEE conference proceedings. Download Template for full paper. The page limit for full paper is six (6) pages. All full papers should be submitted electronically to the IWGRS Technical Program Committee via  the same LINK.


<NEW> IWGRS 2020 Author kit and video upload link.


Important Information (for Authors): Abstract Submission Deadline: 15 August 2020 (extended to 30 August 2020) Notification of Acceptance: 15 September 2020 Full Paper Submission Deadline: 19 October 2020 Author Registration Deadline: 24 October 2020


Keynote Address by Malaysian Space Agency (MYSA) Director General Tuan Haji Azlikamil Napiah (MYSA, Malaysia) Topic: Malaysian Space Science and Remote Sensing Programme – A Way Forward  
Keynote Address by IEEE GRSS Distinguish Lecturer Professor Dr. B. S. Daya Sagar (ISIBC, India) Topic: Mathematical Morphology in Geoscience, Remote Sensing and Geospatial Data Science: An Overview  


Participant Presenter Non-presenter
IEEE GRSS member Free Free
Regular Free Free
Student Free Free
The deadline for registration will be on 15 November 2020.




TPC Chair

Chan Yee Kit (Multimedia University, Malaysia))

TPC Members

B. S. Daya Sagar (ISIBC, India) Biswajeet Pradhan (UTS, Australia) Dinesh Sathyamoorthy (STRIDE, Malaysia) Kasturi Devi Kanniah (UTM, Malaysia) Lim Tien Sze (Multimedia University, Malaysia) Mohd Fazuwan Ahmad Fauzi (MYSA, Malaysia) Nurul Hazrina Idris (UTM) Mohd Nadzri Md Reba (UTM) Scott Yang-Lang Chang (NTUT, Taiwan) Sun Hung Bo (NTU, Singapore) Zafri Baharuddin (UNITEN, Malaysia) Zulkiflee Abd Latif (UiTM, Malaysia)


Chair: Prof. Ewe Hong Tat Co-Chair: Tuan Haji Azlikamil Napiah Members: Koo Voon Chet, Dinesh Sathyamoorthy, Zulkiflee Abd Latif, Chan Yee Kit, Lim Tien Sze, Kasturi Devi Kanniah, Gobi Vetharatnam, Zafri Baharuddin, Biswajeet Pradhan


Chair: Zafri Baharuddin (UNITEN, Malaysia) Co-Chair: Pn Harita Jamil Members: Hamsalekham, Dr. Muhamed Kamal Azidy Musa, Khairul Hisham Ismail, Puan Khoirun Nadia Zainol, Puan Noorlydia Ahmad, Siti Noratiqah Mohamad Deros, Ahmad Dziaul Islam Abdul Kadir, Azmira Mohd Sukri, Dzahir Rashidi Mohd Dzaki, Nurul Azwin binti Abdul Wahib

Copyright (c) 2020